State Government and Local Municipalities

A county is a political subdivision of the State of Alabama. Among the principal governmental functions vested in Alabama counties are law enforcement; tax assessment, levy and collection; administration of decedent's estates and probate matters; maintenance of real and personal property title records; construction and maintenance of public roads and bridges; and maintenance of the county courthouse, which provides office space for various county officials and county and state departments.

Macon County is governed by a five-member County Commission, composed of a Chairman and four Commissioners. The Chairman of the County Commission is a registered voter who is elected countywide for a four-year term on the presidential cycle. The other four members of the County Commission are elected from single-member districts for four-year terms. Each Commissioner must be a registered voter and live within the district they represent. Commissioners representing District 1 and District 3 are elected in the presidential election cycle. Commissioners representing District 2 and District 4 are elected in the gubernatorial election cycle.

Three members of the Commission constitute a quorum to conduct of business. A simple majority vote of those present and voting determines county policies. The Chairman is authorized to vote only in case of a tie. The Chairman presides over the meetings and is responsible for keeping the minutes of the meetings of the County Commission.

Commission Meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month unless it is a holiday, then it is held on the next business day.

The Macon County Commission’s normal working hours are Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm CST. Our offices are located at 101 East Rosa Parks Avenue, Suites 102-106, Tuskegee, Alabama 36083.  Please contact (334)727-5120 for more information.



LAW ENFORCEMENT, Municipal and State

  • Alabama Law Enforcement Agency  334.745.4651
  • Franklin Police Department 334.727.2111
  • Notasulga Police Department 334.257.3444
  • Shorter Police Department 334.727.9190
  • Tuskegee Police Department 334.727.0200